1000 Things We Hate #51: Facebook Conversations in Class

3 05 2010

That cute old man with only 26 friends may have just made my hate towards this a little less… oh well.

So, after taking a 2 week hiatus from 1000 Things We Hate, I’m back to bitch and bitch and bitch.  My list of things I need to write about are ever growing, and I’ve amassed quite a bit in two weeks.  I mean, really, I couldn’t stay away for long, even if I am in the midst of the lead up to finals.

You know what I’m tired of?
Intellectual Facebook Conversations.

I like facebook.  I held out for a while on getting one figuring that my Myspace was sufficient (I never use it now), but I got one a week into college my freshmen year.  It made sense: a bunch of new people, new connections, “god, I really want some fuckin friends.”  A year and a half later, I stare at the small amount of friends I have and go “hmmmmm.”

Now, I just use facebook mostly to play Mafia Wars (yeah, I’ll admit it), see what Tristan Jones is up to (writer of some Tales of the TMNT), see the goofy/creepy ads on the side, and advertise my blog on.  It’s a neat set-up, really.

The current runs of Facestalking towards/of me has kinda weirded me out, but I’m okay with it.

What I’m not okay with is that every goddamn writing and culture or communication studies course mentions, at least once, facebook in order to provoke deep, meaningful thought.  Hell, my writing and culture course brings facebook up almost every week.

I use it, okay, but I sure as hell don’t want to talk about how intellectually phenomenal it is.

Things just get stale.  You talk in loops about “you can edit your life,” “you can control your presentation making yourself be both the signifier and the signified,” “it’s such a social taboo to talk about your internet life in real life,” “you can do amazing things!”

I went to a presentation by Michele Jackson last week on Wednesday, and she discussed how Facebook operates as Internet 1.0, 2.0, and 3.0.  She made talking about Facebook intelligently really interesting, and basically killed any other conversation about Facebook that I’ve had in my classes.

I understand everyone’s all trying to figure out this cultural phenomenon, but, please, the conversations do not get us anywhere new.  In fact, they’re a one step forward two steps back situation.

Truly, I wish I had just a bunch of used needles to shoot out into people’s eyes when they start talking about the wonders of facebook in terms of culture.

Okay, that old man really made me not as vehement, but I still really hate this.

Do you still have a problem with Facebook!?  Is it a unnecessary necessity!?  Well, check out more about facebook and emoticons, Ads, Profile Pic ADD, Birthdays, or Alternate Typing!

Oh my gosh!  If that wasn’t enough, then we implore you to investigate some more delusional distractions at the 1000 Things We Hate Master List!


Actions

Information

One response

27 02 2011
1000 Things We Hate #144: Profile Pic ADD « MechanisticMoth

[…] more 1000 Things We Hate featuring Facebook, check out face-chatting here and emoticons here and facebook ads here and youropenbook […]

Leave a Reply

