1000 Things We Hate #88: Wuthering Heights

29 07 2010

Talk about the most overrated book in all of fucking Romantic Literature, and I’ve read a lot of it. Let’s be honest here, this was the longest episode of Passions I have ever wasted my time on, and I’ve watched A LOT of Passions. The characters are unnecessarily overdeveloped, or should I say exaggerated, to the point of being utterly unbelievable. I would have to say that the episode where witches steal a baby from a hospital is more believable than this, and that was pretty fuckin’ out there. (Alright, that’s a bit of a stretch, I know).

soooooo gooood.

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I get it, Heathcliff is supposed to be the physical portrayal of the wild soul of the moors, whatever. There’s so much shitty symbolism I would rather slit my own throat than be forced to read that through again. But that doesn’t mean that everyone’s reaction to just about everything has to be so over the top that they feel the need to yell and shout and punch holes through walls all the fucking time (okay, it wasn’t a wall, it was a window, same thing). It’s just overdramatic to point of extremity. (And I thought I had seen enough of that in the eight years or so I did theatre. I guess I was wrong.) This is just a bad soap opera drawn out too far.

Terrifying. Thanks a lot Ralph Fiennes.

I won’t doubt that the book has a good structure. I’m not doubting that at all. In fact, the book has a very interesting structure that carries the story through to the end. However, the structure does not make up for the contents, by which I mean the complete lack of making believable characters. You can make a good story out of what you’ve got going on, but the characters were so over the top and absurd that it made it entirely impossible to follow them through the story to the end with any sort of attachment. Oh wow, that guys bein’ a douchebag AGAIN. Not surprising in the least. I realize that this is fiction, and that it does not necessarily have to be believable in the common sense of the word. However, I do believe that even in fiction there has to be a certain spark of believability within the characters so that the story is coercive. Without that it doesn’t make much goddamn sense, now does it?

Yeah, that's right, they did that.

There’s a lot of revenge in this story. Everyone has to get revenge for something or other, and I felt that there weren’t well-enough explanations for their actions. Some things in writing you should leave to the reader, but others you should certainly not leave in the dark. And I feel like their characters were, to an extent, left in the dark.

I realize that this post isn’t that funny. I’m just angry to the point of being almost entirely serious, which almost never happens. So, please, bear with me, I’m just venting. Maybe I take this kind of stuff too seriously. I’d rather read Jane Eyre any day over this.

Way better, I recommend it.

Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against Romantic Literature, give me Shelley (be it Mary or Percy), Wordsworth, Coleridge, or Keats any day. I just have a thing against poorly executed literature that is over publicized and overrated as being better than it actually is. I realize that many people would disagree, and that’s fine. You can think what you will, but you’ll never be able to change my mind.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

