1000 Things We Hate #181: Light Switches

9 09 2011

Those of you who know me know I have a few neuroses.  Well, okay… everyone does.  For example, when I put on deodorant I have to slide it up and down my armpit eight times.  I’m not quite sure, but if I don’t do it I will most definitely have a bad day.

Ever since I was a child I have had a problem with light switches.  Now, I don’t hate the light switch itself, per se, I just hate when they alternate.  What I mean is when you have a double light switch above and one is up and the other is down.  What happens is that there are two switches that control the same light and they must always be in opposition (depending on how the wiring is, I suppose).  So, in my house, if one is up then the other one must be down on the separate panels.  I hate to see that one is up and the other is down on the double panel.

It drives me nuts.  So nuts that I go and buy a crossbow, shoot it up into the air, spin around in three circles, read a comic book, and then catch the arrow in my mouth (without injuring myself).

If I see that the light switches are not both up or both down, I will GO OUT OF MY WAY in order to fix this issue.  This may involve traveling large distances across rooms (a grand 20 feet max) over a great many obstacles (Sabretooth clawing at my feet) in order to make myself feel a little more at peace.

In short, I blame this problem on my Dad.  He would always comment on this problem while growing up and would make sure they would all be down if the light was off, and one would be up if the light was on.  He has taught me many things, but this may scar me for the rest of my life.  I mean, just turning off lights in general when you’re walking around the house leaving from room to room is important.  But, I’ll save that for another time.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

